CaGBC honours Canada's green building leaders at 2018 Leadership and Green Building Excellence Awards

Canada's green building projects and innovators were in the spotlight on June 7th as the Canada Green Building Council (CaGBC) honoured the 2018 Leadership and Green Building Excellence Award recipients as a part of Building Lasting Change, the 2018 CaGBC National Conference and Showcase.


The annual Leadership Awards recognize individuals and organizations that show outstanding leadership in the industry, and those who have made a significant contribution to the CaGBC's mission and goals in advancing green building in Canada.


This year, the CaGBC expanded its Excellence in Green Building Awards with new categories: the Inspiring Home Award, the Tenant Improvement Award and the Zero Carbon Building Award, in addition to categories for new construction and existing building projects.


"I am very pleased to congratulate this year's CaGBC Leadership and Green Building Excellence Award winners," says Thomas Mueller, President and CEO of the Canada Green Building Council. "This year we decided to raise the bar by adding additional recognition awards for exceptional projects and the results are clear: Canada is home to many of the world's leading green buildings and innovators.

"I'd also like to give special recognition to this year's Lifetime Achievement winner Brian Denney. Brian dedicated his entire career of 40+ years to the success of the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA) where he lead the organization in delivering diverse programs ranging from heritage conservation to climate change mitigation and adaptation, and green building and sustainable community development. He has and is contributed to green building in many ways including on the CaGBC Board of Directors and currently as a GBCI Canada Board member. Brian's commitment to sustainability is proof that one person can influence and shape a large geographical region to the benefit of the entire community."

The winners of the 2018 CaGBC Green Building Excellence awards are:

  • New Construction - Commercial: Kennedale EcoStation, City of Edmonton
  • New Construction - Institutional: Humber River Hospital
  • Existing Building - Commercial: Royal Bank Plaza, Oxford Properties Group
  • Inspiring Home Award: Karen's Place, Ottawa Salus Corporation
  • Tenant Improvement Award: Engineering & Development Team Headquarters (Phase 1), Google Canada
  • Zero Carbon Building Award: evolv1, Cora Group

The winners of the 2018 CaGBC Leadership Awards are:

CaGBC Lifetime Achievement
Winner: Brian Denney, former CEO, Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA)

CaGBC Inspired Educator
Winner: Dr. Mark Gorgolewski, Chair, Dept. of Architectural Science, Ryerson University  

CaGBC Emerging Green Leader
Winner: Sascha Jansz, PhD researcher, University of Groningen

Government Leadership 
Winner: Lisa King, Senior Environmental Policy Planner, City of Toronto

CaGBC Volunteer Leadership - Technical Expertise
Winner: Jamie McKay, Principal, Morrison Hershfield Limited

CaGBC Volunteer Leadership - Chapter
Winner: Morgan MacDonald, Director of Operations, Ledcor Renew

CaGBC Green Building Champion
Winner: Jonathan Westeinde, Founder and CEO, Windmill Development Group

CaGBC Green Building Pioneer
Winner (Posthumous): Chris Jepson, formerly of Williams Engineering Canada


Students Leading Sustainability: Andy Kesteloo Memorial Project Award
Winner: Tessa Benson, British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT) for her project titled OUTSIDE THE BOX

For more information

Canada Green Building Council
47 Clarence Street, Suite 202
Ottawa Ontario
Canada K1N 9K1